Fayetteville Anglers' Network Forum

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Top posting users this month
No user

AnglingNC Twitter Feed

Bass flies?

5 posters

Go down

Bass flies? Empty Bass flies?

Post  Snagged Thu May 19, 2011 5:50 pm

So I decided it's time for me to get some bass bugs to put on the end of my fly line. Off I went to Gander Mountain. Lo and behold, they have almost nothing now in the way of flies.

Which brings me to my question: Is there any place locally to get flies? The obvious answer is to tie my own but I'm still learning how to tie my shoes so I'm a long from tying flies. Embarassed
Snagged
Snagged
Avid Angler

Back to top Go down

Bass flies? Empty Re: Bass flies?

Post  joe.plotino Thu May 19, 2011 8:57 pm

There is not. I asked Tom this question the other day as well. I went on to Orvis.com and ordered a few. Selection is still not the greatest but I know I need to shop around some more online. Also Ed (deepblu) is quite good at tying his own and used a couple this morning that looked great. He made a worm looking one that I am sure would work very well. Said he got a good hit on it and ended up destroying the fly.
joe.plotino
joe.plotino
Avid Angler

Back to top Go down

Post  joe.plotino Thu May 19, 2011 9:25 pm

Check this place out. Just looked it up. Even for some cool ideas of flies to tie. Or buy.....

http://www.riverbum.com/Bass-Flies/
joe.plotino
joe.plotino
Avid Angler

Back to top Go down

Post  Mike Davis Fri May 20, 2011 4:38 pm

Joe- The link you provided looks like a good source for both purchase AND for using the photos as guides to tie our own. TNX.

For Snagged, who said: "...still learning how to tie my shoes so I'm a long from tying flies...." -- You might try:
. 1. Berkenstocks -[Don't bother to ask how I know.]-, and;
. 2. "Tie Fly'ing" classes @ the Pechmann Center: